Governance


NashVirtual Governance Information

The General Assembly is a meeting of Active and Life members for the purposes of conducting the business of the AAPD. Due to the cancellation of the 2020 AAPD Annual Session in Nashville, there will be no face-to-face General Assembly. However, per the AAPD Bylaws, the AAPD Executive Committee by unanimous vote called for a virtual Special Session of the General Assembly. The Illinois Not-For-Profit Corporation Act which governs AAPD permits a meeting of members in this manner. This will take place on Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 1:00 p.m Eastern/12:00 noon Central/11:00 a.m. Mountain/10:00 a.m. Pacific time.

Notice of this Special Session of the General Assembly is being provided as required no less than thirty (30) days before the session, via a postcard being mailed to all Active and Life (voting) members. Additional information will be disseminated via E-News. The virtual meeting will be accessible via the AAPD website.

Constitution and Bylaws amendments and proposed changes/additions to oral health policies and best practices of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (as developed by the Council on Clinical Affairs), and the Canadian member dues proposal will be considered by the General Assembly Special Session. These proposals were printed and mailed in the March 2020 issue of PDT (mailed on March 11, 2020) and are posted on the AAPD website (due to their length the oral health policies and best practices proposals are only available online). The General Assembly Special Session agenda will be posted shortly under “Latest News” in the Members-Only section of the AAPD website.

Prior to the General Assembly Special Session, virtual Reference Committee hearings will take place on Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern/1:00 p.m. Central/12:00 Noon Mountain/11:00 a.m. Pacific time. This is during the lunch break of the virtual pre-conference course. Constitution and Bylaws amendments, proposed changes/additions to oral health policies and best practices recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, and the Canadian member dues proposal will be the subject matter for these hearings. Members are strongly encouraged to participate. Non-members may participate, but will be polled and asked to identify themselves by the chair, and are not allowed to comment. The Reference Committees are intended to be the venue for member discussion on any formal resolutions that will be proposed before the General Assembly. This is an opportunity for members to present testimony on business to come before the General Assembly.  Reference Committee Reports will be posted online prior to the General Assembly Special Session.

Council and Committee Meetings Schedule
*All meeting times listed are in Central Time unless otherwise noted
**All times are subject to change, continue to check back for the most updated list of dates and times

Monday, May 11
11AM-1PM Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center
1PM-3PM Section Editors
3PM-4PM Leadership Development
4PM-5PM Affiliate Advisory
5PM-6PM Special Health Care Needs

Tuesday, May 12
11AM-1PM In-Service Examination
1PM3PM Post-Doctoral
3PM-4PM Dental Benefits
4PM-5PM Speakers Bureau
5PM-6:30PM Early Career Dentists

Wednesday, May 13
11AM-12:30PM Scientific Program Committee
12:30PM-1:30PM Communications
1:30PM-3PM Editorial Board
3PM-5:30PM Sedation & Anesthesia
5:30PM PAC Steering Committee

Thursday, May 14
11AM-1PM Safety Committee
1PM-3PM Government Affairs, Pediatric Dental Medicaid, CHIP Advisory
3PM-4PM Continuing Education
4PM-6PM Pre-Doc Education
7PM Residents

Friday, May 15
9AM-11AM Clinical Affairs
11am-2PM Evidence-Based Dentistry
2PM-4PM Scientific Affairs
4PM Membership

Saturday, May 16
9AM Executive Committee
1PM AAPD Foundation Board of Trustees

Sunday, May 17
10AM Board Of Trustees

Sunday, May 24
2PM Board Of Trustees